EmilyMilo27's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Puppy Troubles 101 November 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Emily Milo @ 11:59 pm

Getting a puppy was something I’ve wanted for years and years, so let me start out by saying that I have ZERO regrets on doing so. But man, they definitely do NOT come with warning labels or instructions…

Potty training seemed easy – you take the dog out every few hours, and eventually it’s supposed to learn that the grass is it’s sanctuary for all its bodily wastes… But eventually doesn’t mean weeks, and maybe not even months. Today is November 10th, I’ve had Daisy since August 23rd, and just when I think she gets it, she squats right in front of me to prove me wrong.

Puppies, just like elementary-aged children, lose their teeth. To my surprise, Daisy not only lost her teeth, but her cute little puppy breath, too. & now, along side of teeth falling out all over the place, her breath just down right stinks! Lucky for me, she LOVES to give puppy kisses, so I get lathered in her smelly slobber! ๐Ÿ™‚

In attempts to try to regulate this bad breath, I went to Wal-Mart and bought her Dingo Dental Stix (& I most certainly do NOT recommend them, not even to my worst enemy), which are designed to be a tasty treat for your pup, while cleaning its teeth and freshening its breath. Not only has it NOT done any of the above, its made her sick to her stomach for the last 2 days… Which has lead to me coming home from class today to an absolute MESS in her crate – I’m sure anyone could read between those lines…

Daisy’s very good about being in her crate; I will say this is her first accident in there, so I know there must be something wrong. Naturally, I called the Vet (he is back in my hometown) seeking any advice – considering the distance – that he could give me about what to do, given my situation. His first question was about the treats… he asked me where they were made. I quickly grabbed the box, scrolling down the back to find the manufacturer’s location. Sure enough, it said “Made in China” at the very bottom. As soon as I read that to him, he said it wasn’t the definite cause for her upset stomach, but he often finds a correlation between the two. ย His reasoning made sense; you just don’t know how the treats are processed when they come from foreign countries. Dr. Stone recommended only purchasing treats made in the U.S., and preferably those made in southern states. He also recommended I give her a little pepto… & since then, she has been seemingly better.

I learned 2 things today… Stay away from foreign dog treats, & don’t spend ridiculously on dog beds & blankets because you just never know how bad they can be ruined.

Now if only the rain could stop… I could take the little girl out before she soils another spot on my carpet! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a comment